Lionel Messi Selected as BBC’s ‘World Sport Star of the Year’

Listen to Podcast:

After winning the FIFA World Cup, BBC Sports Personality’s ‘World Sport of the Year 2022’ was chosen as the world’s best footballer Lionel Messi. On Monday (December 19), British media BBC reported this information.

The 35-year-old football star brought the World Cup to Argentina after 36 years.

Lionel Messi's World Cup Wining Celebration

Lionel Messi has been named BBC’s World Sport of the Year 2022. He led Argentina to the World Cup in Qatar as the team’s captain.

Messi will get the prize as part of the BBC Sports Personality of the Year awards. The 35-year-old’s latest honor was announced a day after Argentina’s win.

After a thrilling 3-3 tie at the Lusail Stadium, Argentina won its first World Cup in 36 years by beating France 4-2 on penalties.

Argentina FIFA World Cup champion 2022

Messi was the best player in the whole tournament. He scored seven goals for his team, including two in the final.

The BBC World News said that the World Sport Star of the Year award goes to the athlete who “had the most notable sporting success on the world stage during the year.”

Messi has already won seven Ballon d’Or titles and scored 793 goals in his legendary career, but this is the first time he has won this award.

Messi is only the fifth football player to win this award, which was first given out in 1960 as the Overseas Sports Personality of the Year.

Some winners are the great Portuguese player Eusebio and the three-time World Cup winner from Brazil, Pele. Both won in 1966 and 1970.

Ronaldo won the award in 2002 after helping Brazil win the World Cup. In 2014, Cristiano Ronaldo was given the award.

In 2021, the award was given to the Irish jockey Rachael Blackmore. Messi’s win at the World Cup has added to the calls for him to be called the Greatest football player of all time.

The star had already won Copa America with Argentina, four Champions Leagues, and ten La Ligas with Barcelona.

Messi and PSG also won the Ligue 1 championship last year.

The No. 10 made more history when he became the first player to win the World Cup Player of the Tournament award twice. He had won the award before, in 2014, so this was a big deal.

Kylian Mbappe of France came in second, and Luka Modric, a veteran midfielder from Croatia, came in third.


Subscribe to Our Latest Newsletter

To Read Our Exclusive Content, Sign up Now.
$5/Monthly, $50/Yearly


Google Bard Prepares New ‘Memory’ Feature to Improve Personalization

As the world of AI evolves, Google appears to...

How to Stream the Google Pixel 8 Event Live Tomorrow

The major question right now is if Google has...

Top 25 Most Exciting Android 14 Features [Detail Guide]

Are you curious to explore the latest Android 14...

iPhone 15 Pro Overheating: Apple and Devs Working on Software Solution

Some owners of the new iPhone 15 Pro and...

Indian Spacecraft Aditya-L1 Heads Towards Center of Solar System

India's sun-monitoring spacecraft has passed a watershed moment in...