Siraj’s Sensational Spell Takes India to Asia Cup Title and Him to No. 1 ODI Bowler

After the latest update in the ICC ODI Rankings on Wednesday (September 20), Indian pacer Mohammed Siraj will enter the forthcoming India-Australia ODIs at home as the No. 1 bowler. Siraj has been rewarded for his amazing run with the ball, chipping in with frequent powerplay wickets, including a brilliant 6 for 21 in the Asia Cup final between India and Sri Lanka in Colombo on September 17 (Sunday). Siraj shattered the Lankan batting line-up in the championship match of the continental tournament. His career-best statistics not only drove India to the trophy, but also vaulted him to the top of the bowlers’ standings.

Before the Asia Cup final, Siraj had 637 points. However, his magnificent stint — the fourth-best bowling stats by an Indian in ODIs — secured his place at the top, lifting him from ninth place. His total now stands at 694 points. He has 16 more points than Josh Hazlewood, who dropped to second after South Africa’s ODI series in the African country. 

It should be emphasized that this is Siraj’s second time at the top. Previously, the 29-year-old held the position in January 2023 following a strong performance against Sri Lanka at home.

ICC ODI Rankings for Bowlers

  • 1. Mohammed Siraj – 694 rating points
  • 2. Josh Hazlewood – 678
  • 3. Trent Boult – 677
  • 4. Mujeeb Ur Rahman – 657
  • 5. Rashid Khan – 655

Siraj is presently preparing for the three one-day internationals against Pat Cummins’ Australia at home. The series begins on Friday, September 22nd, in Mohali. The second and final ODI will be held on Sunday (September 24), followed by the series finale on Wednesday (September 27) in Rajkot. Regulars like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, and Kuldeep Yadav are only available for the last ODI. 

For First two ODIs vs Australia: KL Rahul (C & WK), Ravindra Jadeja (Vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna.

For third and final ODI vs Australia: Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya, (Vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel*, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj.

The speedster will seek to keep the momentum going in the ODI series against Australia, which is India’s final series before the CWC 2023 edition on home soil. The tournament kicks off on October 5th, with India facing Australia in their respective tournament opener on October 8th in Chennai. 


10 Best Nutritional Benefits of Shark Attack Dutch Bros With Comparison

Are you looking for a delicious way to boost...

2626 Angel Number: Decoding the Spiritual Significance and Hidden Messages

Are you feeling a sense of deja vu with...

20 Essential Questions to Ask Moving Companies for a Stress-Free Relocation

Hiring professional movers eliminates the backbreaking work and logistical...

15 Practical Ideas to Save Space at Home Without Breaking the Bank

Living in a small home can feel cramped at...

Top Gas Station Snacks: Must-Have Treats for the Road

Gas stations commonly cater to convenience, but in recent...